Dickwella returns as Sri Lanka bat first in Cardiff

Kusal Perera one his 2nd toss on tour and had no hesitation in choosing to bat first once again at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

Niroshan Dickwella has returned to the side after missing out on the 1st game in place of all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva. The left-hander will also take the gloves in the game and will slot into the middle order – an unfamiliar role with which he will need to adjust to quickly. De Silva didn’t do much in the 1st game, making just 3 with the bat and then not being called on to bowl.

Sri Lanka have also decided to leave out the experienced Nuwan Pradeep and replaced him with left-armer Binura Fernando. Fernando had a decent showing in the only game he played on Sri Lanka’s tour of Bangladesh in May while Pradeep looked rusty on his international return.

England have also made 2 changes, with Jos Buttler sitting out due to a calf strain and Chris Woakes being rotated out. They will be replaced by Sam Billings and David Willey respectively, while Jonny Bairstow will move up the order to partner Jason Roy to open the batting.

Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Danushka Gunathilake, Kusal Perera (C & WK), Oshada Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan ©, Sam Billings, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

The post Dickwella returns as Sri Lanka bat first in Cardiff appeared first on ThePapare.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *