20th amendment’s Clause on dual citizenship passed

Clause 17 of the draft bill of the 20th amendment to the Constitution, which calls for the abolition of the barrier to dual citizenship, was adopted in Parliament a short time ago by a majority of 93 votes.

Of the 213 Members of Parliament present at the parliamentary sitting, 157 voted in favor, while 64 voted against. The remaining Members of Parliament opted out of the vote.

During the Committee Stage Discussions, Chief Opposition Officer Whip MP Lakshman Kiriella demanded a vote in this regard.

Several Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) parliamentarians, including Faizal Cassim, H.M.M. Harees, Aravindh Kumar, M.S. Thowfeek, A.A.S.M. Raheem, also voted in favor of the specific provision.

The Assistant Secretary of the SJB, MP Diana Gamage, is a popular opposition member who supported the passage of Clause 17.

More News: SLASSCOM gears up to launch “Startup Sri Lanka“

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *